8 Things You’ll Learn from Practicing Ashtanga Yoga

Deep Tuesdays

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is a type of yoga interpreted and popularized by Krishnamacharya and Sri K. Pattabhi Jois. It is derived from: 1. ashtanga , or “eight limbs” of yoga, which refers to the eight spiritual practices stated in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali; and 2. vinyasa, which refers to the breath-synchronized movement, enabling the student to do a smooth flow from one asana (yoga pose) to the next.

Ashtanga is a sequence with a series of yoga poses that begins with five sets of Sun Salutation A and five sets of Sun Salutation B, followed by the standing sequence. This is then followed by one of the six series, and ends with the closing sequence.

By regularly practicing the series, the student learns to master the sequence of postures and to build a flow that cleanses and opens the body to make the other limbs of yoga more…

View original post 880 more words

Author: dreamweaver333

I love to listen to the whispering of spirit.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s